Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award is awarded annually to alumni of the U-M School of Nursing whose career contributions in nursing or health care are distinctive for their impact and have been recognized regionally, nationally and/or internationally. The award is presented during the annual U-M School of Nursing Homecoming Luncheon.


2017 Alumni Award Recipiant

  • Alumni of the U-M School of Nursing
  • Nominee has demonstrated exceptional contributions to the nursing profession
  • Nominee has made a significant impact on the profession of nursing
  • Nominee has made advances and improvements to the nursing profession
  • Nominee has advanced knowledge through rigorous inquiry
  • Nominee actively supports the mission and vision of the U-M School of Nursing
  • Has not received a previous Distinguished Alumni Award
  • Is not a current member of the Awards Committee and/or the Board of Governors of the U-M School of Nursing Alumni Society


Upload the candidate’s curriculum vita or resume. (Limit: 8 pages)
Nominators need not be alumni of the U-M School of Nursing.

Self-nominations are not accepted.



Nominations must be received by the Office of Development and Alumni Relations by March 31.

Previous Awardees

2020 - Dr. Linda Everett (Ph.D. '98)
2019 - Dr. Jane Barnsteiner (Ph.D. ’84)
2018 - Dr. Helen Erickson (BSN '74, MS '76)
2017 - Dr. Joanne Disch (Ph.D. '85)


Contact the Office of Development and Alumni Engagement: nursingalum@umich.edu or 734-763-9710.