Congratulations, School of Nursing Class of 2012!

The School of Nursing Honors Its 2012 Graduates at the Commencement Ceremony. 
Dr. Elizabeth Brough Receives Teacher of the Year Award

Nursing GraduatesOn April 28, the U-M School of Nursing celebrated its Class of 2012 graduates at its annual Commencement Ceremony held at Hill Auditorium. At the ceremony, the U-M nursing community recognized and honored the students who earned baccalaureate, master’s and doctoral degrees from the School of Nursing this year.
Associate Professor Dr. Cynthia Arslanian-Engoren acted as Master of Ceremonies for the event, introducing each of the speakers who addressed the graduates, their families and friends. Dean Kathleen Potempa delivered an introductory greeting, as did Dr. Lori Pierce on behalf of the Office of the Provost and Barbara Medvec on behalf of the Alumni Association.
Christine Renke, Dean Potempa, Melissa Foster-Rietz and Carmen AlvarezFollowing the tradition of U-M School of Nursing commencement ceremonies, one student from each of the three class levels was chosen to speak as a representative of their peers. This year, the Doctoral Student Representative was Carmen Alvarez, who spoke on the journey she and her colleagues have taken to arrive where they are today. Melissa Foster-Rietz represented the master’s students. She spoke on the definition of a nurse and how this definition is related to who the graduates are. Finally, Christine Renke acted as the Baccalaureate Student Representative. Her speech considered what inspires students to become nurses and the importance of keeping that inspiration in sight throughout one’s career.
In addition to the speakers’ addresses, a number of awards were presented at the ceremony to outstanding individuals from the graduating class. Below is the full list of award winners:
  • R. Faye McCain Award: Susanne Pickman
  • Josephine M. Sana Award: Caralee Smith
  • Mary M. Schroder, RN Scholarship Award: Cristina Wojack
  • Frank and Mary Reynolds Memorial Award: Jennifer Wood           
  • Dorothy Salibian Donabedian Award and Special Recognition Award: Rachael CroweGrad Pinning
  • Ellen H. Toporek Memorial Award: Jenna Sargent
  • Ella E. McNeil Award: Laura Gultekin
  • Jennifer S. Joscelyn Memorial Fund Award: Madeline Fei
  • Emilie Gleason Sargent Award: Tracie Fowler
  • Judy M. Judd Alumni Award: Caitlin Couture
  • Gerald de Kalands Certificate Of Excellence: Brittney Ells
  • A. Josephine Brown Award: Aimee Flood
  • Hazel M. Avery Maternity Nursing Award: Nicole Miller
  • Sally Lechlitner Lusk Award: Melissa Foster-Rietz
  • Nursing Business Faculty Award to an Outstanding Graduate Student: Brynt Ellis
  • Jane Wilson Coon Undergraduate Student Award: Stephanie Poindexter
  • Nursing Business and Health Systems Program Award to an Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Blaine Lapp
  • Beatrice J. Kalisch Award for a Graduate Student in Nursing Business and Health Systems: Jeanne Hosler
  • Penny F. Pierce Award: Catherine White
  • Bonnie Kaye Mallory-Foreman Award: Kaley Fornelli & William Byers
  • Honors Program Outstanding Project Award: Hannah Richardson (mentored by Dr. Lisa Kane-Low)
Directly following the ceremony, the School of Nursing held a reception at the Michigan League Ballroom. Families, friends and graduates enjoyed light refreshments and the opportunity to congratulate one another on their outstanding efforts and accomplishments.
Dr. Elizabeth Brough: The Mae Edna Doyle Teacher of the Year Award
This year, out of a pool of exceptional faculty members nominated by their colleagues and students, the selection committee chose Dr. Elizabeth Brough is receive the 2012 School of Nursing Mae Edna Doyle Teacher of the Year Award. The Teacher of the Year Award recognizes excellence in evidence-based teaching, knowledge of subject areas taught, skillful communication and presentation, ability to stimulate and challenge students’ intellectual capacity, demonstrated interest in students, and impact on students’ professional lives. This award honors the memory of Mae Edna Doyle, a distinguished graduate from the Class of 1939.
Dr. Elizabeth Brough and Dean Kathleen Potempa
Dr. Brough’s colleagues and students alike submitted compelling nominations on her behalf. Students in support of her nomination shared comments such as, “Dr. Brough continually goes out of her way to make her students her number one priority. She impacts the lives of her students daily by the passion and example she sets forth each and every day. Libby is the type of teacher who students remember long past their schooling.”
Her colleagues expressed similarly glowing remarks: “Dr. Brough is a remarkable and extraordinary leader and educator. She treats those around her with respect and consideration, but also makes it clear that her expectations for excellence are of the highest standards. She is viewed by undergraduate faculty as a source of creative teaching ideas and as a calm voice of reason when a solution to a problem is needed. Her example to students and faculty is one we should all strive to follow.”